University Of Alabama Research Agreement

The University of Alabama is an independent institution within the University of Alabama, managed by the University of Alabama Board of Trustees and headed by the Chancellor of the University of Alabama. The chamber was created by the state legislator to regulate the operation of the university. Its missions include defining the policy for the university, defining the mission and scope of the university, and taking over the university`s ultimate responsibility to the public and the legislature. [24] The Board of Directors is self-immortalized and currently consists of 15 members and two statutory members. The composition of the body is dictated by the Alabama State Constitution and requires that the board of directors be made up of three members of the Congressional District, which includes the Tuscaloosa campus, and two members of any other congressional district in Alabama. Board members are elected by the board and approved by the Alabama Senate. Board members can serve three consecutive six-year terms. [25] As the state and the university matured, an active literary culture developed on campus and in Tuscaloosa. UA had one of the largest libraries in the country on the eve of the civil war with more than 7,000 volumes. There were several flourishing literary societies, including the erosophical societies and Phi Beta Kappa, which often lectured such respected politicians and literary figures as John A. Campbell, the writer William Gilmore Simms and Professor Frederick Barnard (later president of Columbia University). [2] The addresses of these societies reveal a living intellectual culture in Tuscaloosa; they also illustrate the proslavery ideas that were so central to the university and the state.

[11] The university owns the University of Alabama Arboretum in eastern Tuscaloosa and the Dauphin Island Sea Lab on Dauphin Island, just across the Alabama Gulf Coast. In 2011, the Sustainable Endowments Institute awarded the College Sustainability Carrying Card with a “B” rating. [20] Many cadets who attended school served as officers in the Confederate Army during the Civil War. As a result of this role, Union forces burned down the campus on April 4, 1865 (only 5 days before Lee`s surrender at Appomattox Court House on April 9), which had nothing to do with Sherman`s march to the sea a few months earlier and further east in Georgia. Despite a call from the Cadet Corps for Arms and Defence, only four buildings survived the fire: the President`s Mansion (1841), Gorgas House (1829), Little Round House (1860) and the Old Observatory (1844). [10] The university was reopened in 1871 and in 1880, Congress granted 40,000 hectares of coalland to the university in partial compensation for $250,000 in war damage. [9] If you are shipping non-biological research material, use non-biological MTA. The president of the University of Alabama is the general manager of the university and is appointed by the clerk with the approval of the board of directors. The President reports directly to the Chancellor and is responsible for the day of the university. [24] The President`s office is located on the third floor of the Rose Administration Building, and the President has the privilege of living in the presidential villa on campus.